Free Book Just for Today

Hurry! Get your free copy of Stevie’s book. One day only! And please don’t forget to give it a fair review after reading.

Stevie Turner

My family drama ‘Barren‘ is free just for today. It was published in October 2020 and so far has one 5 star rating:

Esme Jones and husband Aron have completed their family and have twin sons Jared and James. Esme’s older sister Eden Reece is desperate for a child, but a hysterectomy has put paid to any chance of her becoming a parent. When Esme offers herself as a surrogate, Eden and husband Billy are delighted. However, when Esme notices the first fluttering of life inside her and a scan reveals that she is carrying a girl, both sisters are not prepared for the outcome which threatens to tear the fabric of the whole extended family apart.

As always, if you enjoy reading it, please consider leaving a review.

Apart from the usual blog hop on Monday, I’ll be winding down on writing blogs next week. We’ll be…

View original post 21 more words

There are some things a poet cannot accept

Jim says it all-via Tallis Steelyard- about the tragic loss of the lovely Sue Vincent. This community will be poorer without her, and she will always be remembered by anyone who encountered her on her blog, and in her writing. RIP, dear Sue.

Tallis Steelyard

There are times when a poet must make a stand and say, “This has happened without my cognisance and I will not accept it!” Today has not been the best of days. Today I got a note from a patron. Common enough, especially from her, as she was always quick to praise, swift to encourage. But today the note had a bitter flavour. She was sitting awaiting death. A week? Longer?

And what can a poet do? A poet can protest, a poet can stand tall and say firmly that this will not do. A poet can bang the table with his wine glass obvious of the fact it has shattered and the pieces lie glistening but incoherent, shards of dreams never now to be dreamt.

Others have known Sue for longer than I, others will doubtless feel the grief more keenly, will mourn longer, but my job as a…

View original post 431 more words

Historical Thrillers/Mysteries and Paranormal Stories – FREE Books & Samples

Free books and samples! Including something from our blogging friend, Stevie Turner. Check out her link for more!

Stevie Turner

For those of you who are fans of Historical Thrillers/Mysteries, there are 31 FREE books and samples to give away in this Book Funnel promotion which runs until March 31st.

https://books.bookfunnel.com/historicalthrillerandmystery/nibde5h5ie

I have added a free sample of ‘Lily: A Short Story‘ to the promotion…

Lily is 92 and failing in health. Her family told her she was going on a little holiday, and although she finds herself still on her beloved Isle of Wight, to her horror she is now living permanently in a residential home at the mercy of Bridie, the ‘horrible’ one. To make what is left of her life happier she thinks about years gone by, and once again wonders about the strange disappearance of her 14 year old sister Violet in 1897. Her depression lifts when another new resident manages to shed some light on the 76 year old mystery…

Lily: A…

View original post 142 more words

The Arrogance of Time

A simply wonderful piece of writing from the lovely Cheryl Oreglia. She reflects on life as she grows older, in a way that so many of us can identify with. I urge you to use the link to read the full blog post. You will be glad you did.

Living in the Gap

“How did it get so late so soon? It’s night before it’s afternoon. December is here before it’s June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon?” Dr. Seuss

In my remote cocoon, rolled up in a blanket, secured to the double wide chair I used to hate, and now love, gazing out over the expanse of the lake, the steadfast mountain, the “unmentionable” fog, I’m thinking about the arrogance of time and how swiftly we mutate as if a caterpillar from chrysalis to adult.

I am often deceived by the endless charm of time, disguised as a gift, but somehow pompous as a politician whose false assurances serve no one. 

You know what I mean?

The conceit of a system so dedicated to it’s own perpetuation it fails those it’s obligated to assist, one who is incapable of turning back his scrawny…

View original post 1,329 more words

General Fiction & Contemporary Fiction Giveaway

More FREE books and samples, including one from our friend Stevie Turner. Check out the link to her post!

Stevie Turner

This BookFunnel promotion features 20 FREE General Fiction and Contemporary Fiction/Contemporary Women books and samples. The promotion runs until March 26th 2021:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/contemporary-giveaway-newsletter/vuqth7iwgg

I have added a free sample from ‘A Marriage of Convenience’:

Description:

Gerrie Hermann, aspiring rock star from a rich South African family, has an unusual proposal for Sophie Woods when he meets her for the first time in their university canteen. Strait-laced Sophie has never done anything out of the ordinary in the whole of her 19 years. When she decides to take Gerrie up on his offer she has no idea that her decision is going to affect the rest of her life in ways that she could never have foreseen, even in her wildest dreams.

Review by D.G Kaye:

‘Turner has a gift for creating engrossing family drama stories and fleshing out strong characters who draw us into their stories and emotions.

In this…

View original post 280 more words

My Pen To Publish Competition Entry

A new short story from Stevie Turner! Check out the link on her blog.

Stevie Turner

There’s a new short story on my Amazon Author Page, which I have entered for this year’s Pen To Publish competition on AmazonIN:

Keith, a previously happy husband and father, learns that to save his marriage he has to rid himself of Damon, his alter ego who suffers from a chronic sex addiction. However, the path to redemption is not always easy…

If you want to take part, you have until March 10th to submit your previously unpublished manuscript. Good luck!

View original post

123 FREE General Fiction, Christian and Young Adult Books and Samples to Download

More FREE BOOKS and samples, including a sample of one by Stevie Turner. Check out her post for more details.

Stevie Turner

There are 123 FREE books and samples to download for fans of General Fiction, Christian, and Young Adult novels in this BookFunnel promotion, which runs until March 21st:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/springreads/7r3w9jc9yv

My family drama ‘The Daughter-in-law Syndrome’ is part of this promotion, and you can download a free sample by clicking the link above.

The Daughter-in-law Syndrome investigates the complicated relationship causing much friction between Grandmother Edna Deane and her daughter-in-law Arla. In addition it focuses on the sometimes tumultuous partnership between Arla and her husband Ric.

Arla Deane sometimes likens her marriage to undergoing daily psychological warfare. Husband Ric will never voice an opinion, and puts his mother Edna up high on a pedestal. Arla is sick of always feeling that she comes in at only second best to her mother-in-law, who much to Arla’s fury is never told anything by Ric or his sisters that she would not want to…

View original post 389 more words

Random Acts of Kindness Day + Free Book!

Kindness, and a FREE BOOK! If you get your free copy, don’t forget to give it a fair review after reading.

Stevie Turner

Did you know that Wednesday 17th February is ‘Random Acts of Kindness Day’ in the UK? Even if you’re not in the UK you could spread some positivity today and make somebody smile, give a donation to charity, or you could even collect somebody’s medication who is self-isolating… the possibilities are endless.

I’ve already done my bit this morning. A woman I’ve often seen while walking around the village said hello as we approached each other from different directions. We started to chat, and in the end I had recommended my dentist to her as she was looking for a dentist who carries out sedation. She was overjoyed to have found just what she was looking for by stopping to pass the time of day with a relative stranger. She couldn’t thank me enough, and went on her way quite happily.

So… I’ll carry on with the kindness today. I…

View original post 96 more words

I’ve Got A Great Idea

John isn’t getting much traffic on his blog. Please have a read of it when you have time, and let him know what you think.

Now If You Want My Opinion ...

How about some of you other bloggers that I have never heard from get on here and let me know that you can see my blog so that I will know that this whole blog thing isn’t some kind of hoax or something. I am thinking that this blog platform might be a swell platform for a kind of social media outlet or something like that …. but I don’t know whether I am visible to all but a certain few or not.

View original post

Favourite months

With gales blowing outside, and the local river overflowing its banks, I felt it was a good time to reblog this 2012 post about my favourite months. Only one reader left a like and comment at the time, so it should be new to most of you.

beetleypete

Tomorrow is the first of September, and I always look forward to its arrival. It heralds the end of the summer, and the start of autumn, and is one of my two favourite months, the other being March. This is mainly because March is the month of my birthday, and because it is the end of the winter. I have always enjoyed my birthday. It is personal, unlike Christmas, which is for everyone.

I have always felt that March was a good time to celebrate a birthday. The weather can be surprisingly good sometimes, so it is possible to plan a nice day out, to celebrate. It is far enough away from December, so not caught up in the festive hangover, and equally unaffected by the summer rush for outdoor activities. In England, most places of interest or traditional seaside tourist spots are still closed up, awaiting the season.

This…

View original post 449 more words