Short Story Collections

Free Books and Samples. Short story collections this time. Check out Stevie’s post!

Stevie Turner

Are you too busy to read long novels? If you are, then you might like this BookFunnel promotion, which features 18 collections of short stories and runs until June 12th. You will be able to download free books and/or samples by clicking on the link below:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/short-stories-on-bookfunnel/7pj2z8oqkp

I have added ‘Understanding‘ to the promotion, a collection of true and significant life events told not only by myself, but also by 19 of my author friends. Here is a review written in May 2019:

4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Stories of the Struggles in Life that Lead to Joy and Peace

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2019 – Verified Purchase

I’ve delved into this book as if reading/listening to the lives of good friends who have gone through traumatic times, and come out of them with insight and wonder to write about them. Each ‘chapter’…

View original post 68 more words

Free Book Just for Today

Hurry! Get your free copy of Stevie’s book. One day only! And please don’t forget to give it a fair review after reading.

Stevie Turner

My family drama ‘Barren‘ is free just for today. It was published in October 2020 and so far has one 5 star rating:

Esme Jones and husband Aron have completed their family and have twin sons Jared and James. Esme’s older sister Eden Reece is desperate for a child, but a hysterectomy has put paid to any chance of her becoming a parent. When Esme offers herself as a surrogate, Eden and husband Billy are delighted. However, when Esme notices the first fluttering of life inside her and a scan reveals that she is carrying a girl, both sisters are not prepared for the outcome which threatens to tear the fabric of the whole extended family apart.

As always, if you enjoy reading it, please consider leaving a review.

Apart from the usual blog hop on Monday, I’ll be winding down on writing blogs next week. We’ll be…

View original post 21 more words

Historical Thrillers/Mysteries and Paranormal Stories – FREE Books & Samples

Free books and samples! Including something from our blogging friend, Stevie Turner. Check out her link for more!

Stevie Turner

For those of you who are fans of Historical Thrillers/Mysteries, there are 31 FREE books and samples to give away in this Book Funnel promotion which runs until March 31st.

https://books.bookfunnel.com/historicalthrillerandmystery/nibde5h5ie

I have added a free sample of ‘Lily: A Short Story‘ to the promotion…

Lily is 92 and failing in health. Her family told her she was going on a little holiday, and although she finds herself still on her beloved Isle of Wight, to her horror she is now living permanently in a residential home at the mercy of Bridie, the ‘horrible’ one. To make what is left of her life happier she thinks about years gone by, and once again wonders about the strange disappearance of her 14 year old sister Violet in 1897. Her depression lifts when another new resident manages to shed some light on the 76 year old mystery…

Lily: A…

View original post 142 more words

General Fiction & Contemporary Fiction Giveaway

More FREE books and samples, including one from our friend Stevie Turner. Check out the link to her post!

Stevie Turner

This BookFunnel promotion features 20 FREE General Fiction and Contemporary Fiction/Contemporary Women books and samples. The promotion runs until March 26th 2021:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/contemporary-giveaway-newsletter/vuqth7iwgg

I have added a free sample from ‘A Marriage of Convenience’:

Description:

Gerrie Hermann, aspiring rock star from a rich South African family, has an unusual proposal for Sophie Woods when he meets her for the first time in their university canteen. Strait-laced Sophie has never done anything out of the ordinary in the whole of her 19 years. When she decides to take Gerrie up on his offer she has no idea that her decision is going to affect the rest of her life in ways that she could never have foreseen, even in her wildest dreams.

Review by D.G Kaye:

‘Turner has a gift for creating engrossing family drama stories and fleshing out strong characters who draw us into their stories and emotions.

In this…

View original post 280 more words

My Pen To Publish Competition Entry

A new short story from Stevie Turner! Check out the link on her blog.

Stevie Turner

There’s a new short story on my Amazon Author Page, which I have entered for this year’s Pen To Publish competition on AmazonIN:

Keith, a previously happy husband and father, learns that to save his marriage he has to rid himself of Damon, his alter ego who suffers from a chronic sex addiction. However, the path to redemption is not always easy…

If you want to take part, you have until March 10th to submit your previously unpublished manuscript. Good luck!

View original post

123 FREE General Fiction, Christian and Young Adult Books and Samples to Download

More FREE BOOKS and samples, including a sample of one by Stevie Turner. Check out her post for more details.

Stevie Turner

There are 123 FREE books and samples to download for fans of General Fiction, Christian, and Young Adult novels in this BookFunnel promotion, which runs until March 21st:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/springreads/7r3w9jc9yv

My family drama ‘The Daughter-in-law Syndrome’ is part of this promotion, and you can download a free sample by clicking the link above.

The Daughter-in-law Syndrome investigates the complicated relationship causing much friction between Grandmother Edna Deane and her daughter-in-law Arla. In addition it focuses on the sometimes tumultuous partnership between Arla and her husband Ric.

Arla Deane sometimes likens her marriage to undergoing daily psychological warfare. Husband Ric will never voice an opinion, and puts his mother Edna up high on a pedestal. Arla is sick of always feeling that she comes in at only second best to her mother-in-law, who much to Arla’s fury is never told anything by Ric or his sisters that she would not want to…

View original post 389 more words

Random Acts of Kindness Day + Free Book!

Kindness, and a FREE BOOK! If you get your free copy, don’t forget to give it a fair review after reading.

Stevie Turner

Did you know that Wednesday 17th February is ‘Random Acts of Kindness Day’ in the UK? Even if you’re not in the UK you could spread some positivity today and make somebody smile, give a donation to charity, or you could even collect somebody’s medication who is self-isolating… the possibilities are endless.

I’ve already done my bit this morning. A woman I’ve often seen while walking around the village said hello as we approached each other from different directions. We started to chat, and in the end I had recommended my dentist to her as she was looking for a dentist who carries out sedation. She was overjoyed to have found just what she was looking for by stopping to pass the time of day with a relative stranger. She couldn’t thank me enough, and went on her way quite happily.

So… I’ll carry on with the kindness today. I…

View original post 96 more words

For Fans of Biographies/Autobiographies

Another book promotion featuring Stevie Turner. This time the genre is Biographies. Check out her link!

Stevie Turner

One of my favourite reading genres is Biographies. I enjoy reading true stories about other people’s lives whether as an autobiography, biography or memoir.

To this end I decided to run a BookFunnel promotion just for the aforementioned genres, which runs throughout February. You can find all the books that have been added to it by clicking on the link below:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/biographymemoir/w0rq98ank1

I have added a FREE SAMPLE of my own memoir ‘Waiting in the Wings’ to the promotion.

At the grand old age of 92, my mother Dot suddenly starts telling me that she loves me. I am quite dumbstruck at these outbursts of emotion, as she has never mentioned the fact before in all of my 58 years. Over the entire course of my lifetime we have often argued bitterly, and have never really seen eye-to-eye over anything. I squirm with the inner knowledge that she…

View original post 427 more words

Mystery and Thriller Giveaway

Another great giveaway of free books and samples! It includes a promotion for one of Stevie Turner’s books, which is only 99p/99c until the 31st of this month!

Stevie Turner

Do you like reading mysteries and thrillers? Heinrich at Readsydeals has a promotion on BookFunnel consisting of 102 FREE books/samples in the Mystery/Suspense/Thriller genres. You can check them out by clicking on the link below. The promotion runs until the end of January.

https://books.bookfunnel.com/mystery-thriller-giveaway/w8ij2bs36o

I have a free sample of ‘Repent at Leisure’ for you to download. The book itself will be just $0.99/£0.99 from 16th – 31st January 2021.

Paul McAdam wakes up to find a mysterious woman in his bed, but has no memory of how she got there. Soon, Cat Taylor worms her way into his life and eventually moves into his flat. This arrangement suits Paul well — until he meets his ideal woman, Anita Fairfax.

Soon after, they find Cat dead in Paul’s apartment. Despite little evidence, the police suspect him of murder. Anita stands by her new husband, but doubt soon creeps in…

View original post 200 more words

Dark Paranormal Horror

More giveaways! This time in the Paranormal/Horror genres. Once again it features one of Stevie Turner’s books.

Stevie Turner

There are 41 FREE paranormal horror books and samples to download in this BookFunnel promotion which runs until March 8th. You can find them all by clicking the link below:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/paranormaldarkhorror/s3k5sey7j3

My novella ‘Finding David’ is part of the promotion, and there is a free sample for you to read.

When Karen and Mick Curtis attend a demonstration of clairvoyance for the first time, Karen is singled out by the medium, Rae Cordelle. Rae has a message from Karen’s son David, who passed over to the spirit world many years before. The message shocks Karen and sends her on a journey of discovery, rocking her previously happy relationship with second husband Mick, David’s stepfather.

Review (5 stars) by Pete Springer :

What would you do if the person you are married to becomes a murder suspect? Not just any murder—one that involves her son, David. Karen faces this dilemma after…

View original post 148 more words